All About Books · All posts

A Tentative TBR || August 2023

Hey y’all!

We’re already a few days into the month, and I’ve barely read anything. In fact, I’m not too sure how my reading will go this month.

I’m trying something new – BookSiren, which is similar to NetGalley. While I do have an account with the latter, it is quite intimidating, especially with being a small blog, so I’ve never actually requested books from there… BookSiren seemed a bit more lenient with small/newer reviewers, so I thought I’d give it a try and was actually able to get the first book I requested, so we’re gonna start there and see how it goes.

Aside from that, I want to get back into gaming since it’s been a good while. I miss playing Breath of the Wild and I still need to play through the Kingdom Heart saga so I can play KH3. I stopped part of the way through Re: Chain of Memories because I wasn’t enjoying the gameplay too much.

I’m also planning to get back into some shows. Right now, my first priority is Miraculous season 5, but I’m hoping to find an anime to watch soon. I’m considering rewatching Inuyasha and watching Yashahime right after since I never got past the first couple of episodes when it came out, so we’ll see because that will take a very long time only being able to watch a handful of episodes a week.

I am also still planning to work on my V!WIP here and there.

So I do still plan to read during August, but it’s likely not going to be my focus for the month.

That said, let’s get to the books I do plan to read! Which is mostly just my current library books, so…


A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry

This is what I’m currently reading, although I haven’t made it too far. It’s supposedly full of magical realism. Apparently it’s about our MC discovering a cursed girl from the town’s legend after his girlfriend goes missing, so hopefully it picks up soon.

Heiress Apparently by Diana Ma

This was a random library pick-up. All I know is that our MC is an aspiring Chinese American movie star who was told to never step foot in Beijing – except she has to for the movie lead she just landed. And once there, she finds out she looks just like a well-known socialite. It sounds fun.

Red Hood by Elana K. Arnold

Another random library pick-up. All I know is this is apparently a retelling (Red Riding Hood, I guess? I’m not really sure.) But I’m always up for a good retelling.

Persephone by Loïc Locatelli-Kournwsky

It’s a graphic novel, it’s a retelling of Greek Mythology, and it is specifically involving Persephone who is one of my favorites in mythology. Yes, please. I’m very excited for this one, so I’m really hoping it doesn’t disappoint.

The Bloodine Curse by Jamie Lee Fry

This is my BookSiren book that I need to finish by the end of the month! When Izzy and her dad inherit a house from Izzy’s grandmother, they move to Connecticut. When rumors go around that Izzy’s gran-gran was a cursed witch and strange things start to happen, Izzy discovers that there might be more to the story – and to her family. I can’t wait to start this one!


Have you read any of these? What are your plans for August?

2 thoughts on “A Tentative TBR || August 2023

  1. I was happy to see A Fierce and Subtle Poison on your list! I read this book as an ARC a few years ago, but I’ve been a fan of the author since. She’s a local author for me, and her books may not be for everyone, but she is a very talented writer. I’ve read her two other books, as well, but her most recent book Tigers, Not Daughters is my favorite. Happy Reading this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that’s good to know! It doesn’t seem to be something I’d normally read, so I’m not sure how it ended up on my TBR. I’m only a few chapters in, and not sure how I feel about it so far but I do like her writing style thus far, so I’ll definitely be up for picking up another book by her regardless how it continues.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment