All About Books · All posts · Book Tags and Fun

Mythothon – Round 8 – Journey Through Hades

Hey y’all!

Some of y’all know I’ve been trying to find a few readathons to participate in this year without much luck. I had actually discovered Mythothon several weeks ago, but at the time no information had been posted about the September challenge and I completely forgot about it until last week, after I made a library trip. Which meant I had no idea what my TBR was going to be. Somehow I managed to work them all into prompts though…

For additional information: Mythothon is hosted by Louis @ Foxes and Fairy Tales

Now it’s time to…

Enter the Underworld

For this readathon, you’ll start by crossing the River Styx with Charon, the boatman, and enter the Underworld and the afterlife. From their, your goal is to ultimately reach the Gate of Ivory. However, along the way, there are other sights to explore – places for villains and for heroes. Will you (or your character, if you decided to create one) make it out? Make the journey as simple (5 prompts) or as winding as you’d like.

The Most Direct Path

  1. River Styx – Read a book about a journey – Thorn by Intisar Khanani – I’m not sure this is necessarily about a journey, but one does for sure take place according to the synopsis, so I’m going with it.
  2. Cerberus – Read a book with a dog-related word in the title – Scales and Scoundrels vol. 1: Into the Dragon’s Maw by Sebastian Girner – Excuse my creative interpretation here because the word “scoundrel” always makes me think of “He’s a Tramp” from Lady and the Tramp.
  3. The Plains of Judgement – The theme is 3 – The Hunter’s Curse by Jamie Lee Fry – I have an ARC of this I need to read this month, so what better way then to include it here since it’s the second book in the Dark Magic trilogy?
  4. River Lethe – read a book you keep forgetting about – Animorphs: The Predator by K.A. Applegate – I restarted this series in May 2021 hoping to do a full read-through and I got four books in and stopped because I kept forgetting about it. So this sounds like a good time to start it back.
  5. The Gate of Ivory – Give a book a second chance – Hungry Hearts: 13 Tales of Food and Love – I used this as a second chance book because I had it from the library a year or two ago but for some reason didn’t read it.

Explore at Your Own Peril

  1. Persephone’s Grove – Read a book by a female author Unnecessary Drama by Nina Kenwood
  2. The Field of Asphodel – Read a book about a war, battle, conflict, or fight – Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen & Faith Erin Hicks – In this graphic novel, the president of the robotics’ club declares war on the cheerleaders for funding.
  3. Hades’ Palace – Read a book with gold, silver, or bronze on the cover – Whatever After: Two Peas in a Pod by Sarah Mlynowski – Come on, we all knew I would throw at least one of these books in here. It was very fitting that there’s a lot of gold coloring on the cover!
  4. The Elysium Fields – Read a book by a favorite author – One of Us is Back by Karen McManus – I finally got my hands on the last book in the OoUiL trilogy and am so excited to read this!!
  5. Tartarus: Meet Sisyphus – Read a book about death – Festival of Shadows by Atelier Sentô
  6. Tartarus: Meet Tantalus – Read a book about mythology – Wings of Olympus by Kallie George – When Pippa is chosen by the gods as a jockey in a race across the sky, she’ll do everything she can to stay with Zephyr… This sounds like such an adorable read.

I hope I’m able to get through all of these! I’m not sure if I’ll read them in “order” for the direct path, but I think I might try.

Are you participating in Mythothon? What books are you planning to read?

4 thoughts on “Mythothon – Round 8 – Journey Through Hades

Leave a comment